top of page

Book review: Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters

The picture is from my Instagram-profile

@annawchristensen

Information about the book:

  • Book title: Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters

  • Author: Rick Riordan

  • Part of: Percy Jackson and the Olympians (It's book number 2 in the series)

  • Number of pages: 279

  • Published by: Penguin Books Ltd

  • Published: 1st of April 2006

  • Language: English

Résumé

"Half Boy. Half God. ALL Hero.

You can't tell by looking at me that my dad is Poseidon, God of the Sea. It's not easy being a half-blood these days. Even a simple game of dodgeball becomes a death match against an ugly gang of cannibal giants - and that was only the beginning. Now Camp Half-Blood is under attack, and unless I can get my hands on the Golden Fleece, the whole camp will be invaded by monsters. Big ones..."

- Résumé written on the back of the book.

Since the first book - Percy Jackson And The Lightning Thief - was super good and well written, my expectations for this book were high, which can be dangerous and disappoint you. Luckily for me, the book did more than live up to my expectations. It was even better than I thought it would be! The research and Greek myths behind the series are very interesting and creates a complex universe that intrigues the reader. Though I must admit, there was one place in the book where I had a hard time deciding whether I thought there were too many similarities to the myths about the Greek hero Odysseus, it was both a good and a bad thing, I recon. Because it makes sense that it’s similar, but at the same time it would be more surprising and exciting if the stories weren’t so much alike. However, that’s the only bad thing I have to say about this book. Everything else is just right, according to me. Rick Riordan is very good at making Percy a typical yet very unusual teenage boy, since his way of talking and reacting is typical, but at the same time he’s nothing like a regular teenager because he’s a half-blood and has magical powers.

It's also very interesting to follow Percy's development from book to book, because even though this is only the second book, you can tell that he has changed a little since the first one. He is going through puberty like every other teenage boy, but in a half blood kind of way. Very intriging, and I'm excited to see where he'll end up. Furthermore, I really liked the facts about the Gods and Percy’s camp report in the back of the book. A very great and funny detail (You can see pictures of some of these pages below). All in all, I’m very satisfied with the book, love the Percy Jackson universe and seriously can’t wait to start reading the next book! Therefore, I give Percy Jackson And The Sea Of Monsters 4,5 stars.

Well done, Rick Riordan! Thank you so much for the reading experience!

This review is written completely and utterly from my point of view and is not in any way influenced by the publishing company or the author.

One of the pages decribing a God. Here it's Athena, who is described as she is in the myths and as she is in the Percy Jackson books.

A double paged feature of Percy's grades in his classes at Camp Half-Blood, written with a lot of humor.

Most recent posts
All posts
bottom of page