top of page

Book review: The Last Letter From Your Lover

The picture is from my Instagram-profile

@annawchristensen

Information about the book:

  • Book title: The Last Letter From Your Lover

  • Author: Jojo Moyes

  • Number of pages: 390

  • Published by: Hodder & Stoughton General Division

  • Published: 1st of February 2011

  • Language: English

Résumé

"When journalist Ellie looks through her newspaper's archives for a story, she doesn't think she'll find anything of interest. Instead she discovers a letter from 1960, written by a man asking his lover to leave her husband - and Ellie is caught up in the intrigue of a past love affair. Despite, or perhaps because of her own romantic entanglements with a married man.

In 1960, Jennifer wakes up in hospital after a car accident. She can't remember anything - her husband, her friends, who she used to be. And then, when she returns home, she uncovers a hidden letter, and begins to remember the lover she was willing to risk everything for. Ellie and Jennifer's stories of passion, adultery and loss are wound together in this richly emotive novel - interspersed with real 'last letters'."

- Résumé from the back of the book

As soon as I had read the back of this book, when I found it in my local bookstore, I knew I HAD to have it! Being a hopeless romantic and a romance author, I could tell that this was I book I simply couldn't miss out on, and I was right!

From page one I could tell that a major and well thought out plot was about to open up and invite me in, and I was so fascinated by how Jojo Moyes has a talent for making me feel this way, when I start reading one of her books. It happened as well, when I read Me Before You (Which I'll have to review in here as well), and it's such a lovely feeling. I don't know if it's because I'm a writer myself that I experience this, but I hope that some of you have tried it as well, or that you will someday.

The story caught my eye right away being filled with action from the beginning, and I read and read all the time, because I was so anxious to find out what happens next for both Jennifer and Ellie. They're both very intriging and complex characters with completely different lives, yet they both seek a love so deep and true that they are willing to hurt other people to get there. Jojo Moyes has truly got a talent when it comes to making characters that are interesting and relatable. That is something I always find appealing in a story, so of course I always find it a plus.

Moreover, I loved the way the book tells two different stories that are very different yet still have a wonderful connection, that'll have you weeping in the end.

Jojo Moyes has also found a good way to make it easy for the reader to understand where we are in time and place, by switching between presence and past tense depending on which woman we're following.

As always the language in the book is easy to understand, which is characteristic for Jojo Moyes, and which makes the reader able to read the book quicker, which is both nice and sad, because it makes the book evolve quicker but end faster.

I could go on and on about all the things I love about this book, but instead I will finish up by telling you this: The Last Letter From Your Lover is one out of two books that has made me cry, which is very rare for me both when I read and watch films. I only cry when I'm deeply and truly touched by the story and it's characters, and I absolutely was touched by this book. Therefore, I recommend all of you to read The Last Letter From Your Lover and experience these amazing lovestories for yourself! They are too good to miss out on!!

I really wish they would make it into a movie, because I know it would become one of my favorites, just like the book has become one of my absolute favorites of all time!

A book that touches me so deeply and immediately makes me add it to my list of favorites, deserves to get a full set of stars from me! 5 out of 5 stars is hereby given! Congratulations, Jojo Moyes! And thank you from the bottom of my heart for sharing Jennifer and Ellie's stories with me and the rest of the world!

This review is written completely and utterly from my point of view and is not in any way influenced by the publishing company or the author.

Most recent posts
All posts
bottom of page