top of page

Book review: Percy Jackson And The Battle Of The Labyrinth

The picture is from my Instagram-profile

@annawchristensen

Information about the book:

  • Title: Percy Jackson And The Battle Of The Labyrinth

  • Author: Rick Riordan

  • Part of: Percy Jackson And The Olympians (It's book number 4)

  • Number of pages: 342

  • Published by: Puffin Books

  • Published: 6th of May 2008

  • Language: English

Summary

"Half Boy. Half God. All Hero.

Honestly, blowing up another school was the last thing I wanted to do. As the son of a Greek god, I've had my share of near-death disaster. This summer, I didn't choose to battle the cheerleading squad, but when two hissing she-devils with fangs are heading straight for you, what's a half-blood meant to do?

That was just the beginning. This is the one where my arch-enemy, Luke, is looking for a way to invade our camp via an ancient labyrinth. If he succeeds, thousands of bloodthirsty monsters will attack. So it's goodbye sunshine, hello darkness as four of us descend into terrifying underground and beyond...

Can Percy navigate his way out of trouble - before Luke's army bring mass destruction to Camp Half-Blood?"

- From the back of the book

As with the previous books in the Percy Jackson series, I really enjoyed reading The Battle Of The Labyrinth. However, I didn't feel as anxious to read and as excited during this book as I was while reading the others. I felt like the others were more action packed and this one was a bit more slow going and not quite as actionfilled. Therefore, I'm not as impressed by this book as I have been by the former books in the series. I must point out, though, that it is indeed a very good and well written book that stays loyal to the characters, the style of writing and the universe, which I recon is a very important statement to remember. It is clear that Rick Riordan is very much into his story and don't make the typical mistake of forgetting certain details in the middle of it all, which is very important, professional and admireable, when the series is so long.

Long story short, I found the book really good even though I wasn't blown as much away as usual. As a result of this, I'm giving The Battle Of The Labyrinth 4 out of 5 stars, because I felt something was missing for me to be able to give it all 5 stars.

I'm really excited to see how this story ends in the next and last book!

This review is written completely and utterly from my point of view and has in no way been influenced by the publishing company or the author.

Most recent posts
All posts
bottom of page